New Mexico State Land Office

The New Mexico State Land Office, under the direction of Commissioner Garcia Richard, manages 9 million acres of surface acres and 13 million mineral acres across 32 counties. This land, referred to as state trust land, was allocated to New Mexico by the Federal Government under the Ferguson Act of 1898 and the Enabling Act of 1910. The mission of the agency is to use state trust land to raise revenue for New Mexico public schools, hospitals, colleges, and other public institutions.